testing, testing… just thoughts on scatch paper

First thing’s first. I’m an egalitarian. I believe in biblical equality. I believe that women can be pastors — preachers, teachers, elders, deacons, professors of seminaries, missionaries on the mission field; they can be apostles who prophesy, church planters who start churches… there is no limit to what God might call women to — as there is no limit to what God might call men to.

I am a woman and I believe that God has called me to be a pastor, teacher, shepherd, discipler, missionary, church planter. As I live and breathe, teaching is something I can’t help but do. I WRITE in order to fulfill God’s call for me to teach – in a world where there are not enough opportunities, platforms and encouragement for women to teach. I don’t teach because I know it all (far from it) but rather it’s as though I am swept along by the current of His unrelenting revelation to me which demands to be voiced in one form or another. I am a mouthpiece for the living God, who urges me with deep conviction that if I do not speak, then I am robbing the world of a piece of His heart and thoughts which He wants to be made known.

There are many Christians who say that a woman cannot teach or preach or be a pastor. They really believe that a woman’s place is in the home. Her highest calling is to be a wife and mother. Everything else is secondary –even being a follower of Jesus (though they would never outrightly say it). They believe that for a wife to follow her husband’s call and be her husband’s ‘right hand man’ is God’s will for her life. Period, end of sentence. Forget whatever call He might’ve been leading her to prior to His leading her to her husband. I disagree with all of this and feel sad for these women who live believing that they have less value than their husbands as their whole lives are centered around serving and supporting his needs and his opportunities. They don’t realize (as Lynne Hybels so insightfully points out) that Scripture might call them to die to the self-will, but it never calls them to die to the self that God created them to be (their gifts and passions).

Christ’s resurrection means a new life of freedom for all. It’s a freedom from the bondages of sin and human limitations and discriminations of race, class and gender. It means equality before God. It means receiving an inexplicable inheritance that is for all people. This gospel message is powerful and radical — so much so that it will start a revolution. I want to be on the frontlines of this revolution.

These here are my scratch paper thoughts for this revolution.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Sam on January 3, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I’m glad you’ve started this blog, and I look forward to seeing what discussions and discoveries will unfold on this “scratch paper” of thoughts. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

