Authentic blogging?

I’ve been disenchanted with blogging recently, having the same sort of feeling about blogging as I had in my single days toward a boy after the passion had cooled and we had become distanced and estranged. I’ve been wary of coming near it but still had a nagging feeling that I’m not yet ready to walk away completely. I want to write candidly and unapologetically about the issues that burn in my heart and tear at its tissues without having to equivocate, adjust or soften my words or convictions. But when it comes to blogging, there’s a high price to pay for true authenticity. You either write with scathing honesty and lose your audience (and therefore your reason for blogging) or write for your audience and lose your message (and therefore your purpose in blogging). Of course, there’s the hoped-for middle ground where you are able to write carefully, gently and charismatically enough that even those who disagree will continue to read (and, maybe? you hope, inch slowly toward agreement) — but is that really possible? Can revolutions be won through gentle step-by-step stepping such as this — or must one be in-your-face burning with passion?

Unfortunately, I feel so strongly about the issues I feel most convinced about (Jesus as the only way, Missions as the best career choice, Biblical Equality as God’s ideal for men and women, and taking care of the orphans as “true religion”) that it’s hard for me to rein in my passions well enough as to actually avoid making some kind of offense before I’m able to succeed at any gentle prodding. So what’s a wannabe revolutionist to do? What do others do?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Look the other side of the story. Try to think from the viewpoint of those who believe in things diametrically opposite to your faith, and work from there. Ask yourself what such totally different people would feel like while reading what you write.

    Empathize without relinquishing your standards.

    Reply

  2. What is your true goal in blogging?

    If it is to get everyone who reads your posts to “inch slowly toward agreement”, you will be disappointed. It’s unlikely that any blog can achieve that goal, as the world is made up of diverse people with diverse ideas.

    I suggest that you write what you honestly feel and let the chips fall where they may. No one can force others into true agreement with their ideas, nor should they want to.

    And if you want to attract new readers, write with respect for others opinions, not as the ultimate authority on the way people should think and live their lives.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  3. Damyantig: Good thoughts. That is exactly what I try to do. But it’s much easier said than done. It’s hard to ’empathize without relinquishing’.

    Nancy: Thanks for your input — the reminders are very good.

    Perhaps the conflict comes in mostly as my ‘teaching’ heart comes in. I am a teacher at heart and I write in order to reveal, convey, and sometimes persuade as well. When I see something, I want others to see it too. As a teacher, I understand that they might not agree with me, but perhaps my desire is that they might at least see it from my perspective.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

