Stay-at-home-feminist, part 4

This is the fourth in a series – click here for part 1.

Becoming a mother of an infant meant that a new depth of love was opened up to me.  My little baby came from me, is therefore a part of me, and so I have difficulty having her apart from me.  When she is apart from me, my thoughts never depart from her.  It is an unconscious constant.  This is what I mean by a new kind of love, where words are insufficient to describe.

It is a new kind of affection and a new kind of joy.  When do I not love spending time with her, watching her grow and getting to witness her amazement at seeing something she’s never seen before or doing something she’s never been capable of?  I confess that I absolutely adore my little baby!

At the same time, becoming a stay-at-home-mom meant the beginning of a new kind of tug-of-war.  I am beset with a constant nagging feeling that I should be doing something or getting something done, but when I actually work on something, I feel guilty that I’ve been ignoring my baby.  But if I devote the whole day to being by her side and nothing else, a hollow feeling of unproductivity sets in.

There must be a balance somewhere.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Candy on April 15, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Thanks for sharing! I totally resonate with the fact that when I am not productive, I don’t feel good about myself. Unfortunately for me, it was tied in with the fact that I defined myself by the work that I could do and realized that I would look down on people who were not as productive. I suck.

    There is so much that you are doing though. The way you love, care, give to your baby is anything but passive.

    Reply

    • Thank you for your comment, Candy. Unfortunately, it is true that most of us define productivity with some kind of ‘tangible’ result. It’s ingrained in our culture. I think it would take daily reminders to ourselves that productivity is responding to God’s love, and this kind of ‘obedience’ might end up resulting in something tangible or intangible.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

