Commissioned

In July, I was commissioned to be a pastor.  Thus, instead of being a “pastor’s wife”, I made my husband into a “pastor’s husband”!

When I felt called originally, I knew exactly what my gifts were, but I didn’t think that I could, as a woman, use my gifts to fulfill my calling to pastor as a pastor.  I thought I had to be a pastor’s wife in order to fulfill my destiny.  I’m grateful that God took me out of the shadow and brought me into the light.  I don’t have to stand in the shadow of a man — in Christ, I can stand on my own.  I feel blessed to be free.  I feel thankful and blessed and in awe of my Father, who adopted me and gave me the full rights and privileges of being his own.

The consequence of my commissioning is this:  affirmation.  I feel like I am truly equal.  There is equality.  God sees me as just as much made in his image as a man.  In a strange way, I feel validated and somewhat vindicated.

Thank you, God, for counting me worthy to be your servant. 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations MaryAnn! So happy for your commissioning and the confirmation it brings.

    Reply

  2. Posted by natalie on October 5, 2011 at 9:08 am

    🙂 🙂 love you, mary ann!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

